Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, new forum member here. I will be starting to ride next week, and just purchased my first bike off of Craiglist for cheap, a 1998 750CC Honda Shadow ACE. The bike needs some repairs, and a new battery but should be functioning well otherwise. The original owner was an NY resident, im an NJ resident and the issue is that he did not have to title to the bike, though did have a registration and proved that the bike was not in fact stolen. I dealt with the owner's brother for the sake of the deal, as the owner was at work on Long Island at the time.

Without the title, I cannot register the bike in NJ, even with a bill of sale. The owner, displeased that I talked his brother $300 down from the initial price due to the fact the bike wasn't funtional when he showed it to me, and has more cosmetic damage than initially detailed, is refusing to try to get me the title and insists I have to get one from Broadway TItles, whom would charge me $895 to get a title made.

My question to you all is what should I do in this situation? THe brother is going to try to go to the DMV on friday to request a title, but otherwise I am not certain if there is another course of action I can take here.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
Never buy a vehicle without a title.

Never. Ever.

That being said, there should be a procedure to go through to get a replacement title. Of course, it's probably required that it can only be sent to the owner listed on the title, and he would have to voluntarily sign it over to you. Technically, he could deny that the sale was ever completed and you are in possession of his property and demand it be returned.

Check with your local DMV to see what steps must be taken to replace the title.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3