Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado 1700
4,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, its been awhile since I've visited the forums. I haven't been doing much riding since summer rolled around here in the desert (unlike most of the country, riding season for me is winter!). I've encountered quite a conundrum since moving here. My job requires professional dress (slacks, button up shirt, and a tie), and during the summer I've found that its simply too uncomfortable to ride in my normal gear, not to mention that arriving to work soaking wet from sweat isn't my idea of "professional." An no, bringing a change of clothes to work is not a viable option.

Ever since I started riding I've been an ATGATT kinda guy, with the exception of purpose-built pants. However, as I stand here looking at the thermometer and realizing that the bike has set practically all summer, I'm wondering if I should simply forego the riding jacket so I can actually ride. I will never, EVER consider riding without helmet or gloves, though.

Has anyone else been faced with this predicament?

·
American Legion Rider
23,521 Posts
Yep. Did it for 20 years. Suit and tie under a pair of oversized coveralls. Winter was chaps and oversized textile jacket. Both seasons of course with helmet and gloves. This was in Cali so mornings was cooler generally than afternoons in summer so I could normally get to work without TOO much sweat. I had 4 different suits and it seemed 1 was always at the cleaners as I rotated through the others during the week.

·
American Legion Rider
23,521 Posts
The suit didn't come out wrinkled?? And how long was the ride?