Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This probably isn't Suzuki specific, but I have a 1981 Suzuki GS550T and when it has been revving really high (it's been going for a long time and warmed up or I pumped up the rpms), then I turn it off, it pops with easily as much noise as firing a 22. It sounds like it's coming from the mufflers.

First, I'm pretty new to motorcycles and have only owned a motor vehicle for 3 years. Why would this happen?

What could cause this and how can I fix it?

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
Backfiring like that is usually caused by unburned fuel mixture getting burned in the exhaust system.

I would pull the spark plugs and check the color and condition of the electrodes to see where the fuel mixture is sitting.

·
Premium Member
5,746 Posts
Yep, after-fire like this is fairly common for Suzukis, since the idle is tuned kind of lean to meet California rules. When closing the throttle, the mixture can get lean enough that it doesn't actually burn in the cylinder, and is pumped into the exhaust, where it pops. There are many, many threads on forums asking for a solution. A partial correction is to adjust the idle fuel/air (pilot) screws, which may have been behind brass anti-tamper plugs. Every Suzi owner I know has pulled those plugs, and re-tuned the idle. There's only so much you can do, though. My Suzi still pops on occasion, as does my old CB450; I just set the best idle, and ignore the pops.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey, thanks for all the info! Dodsfall - thanks for letting me know what it was called. I could finally get some relevant search results. After some research and because of what WintrSol said, it seems it may be caused, in part or in whole, by the idle screws being too high. I don't know how to change them, but the bike sometimes idles as high as 5500 rpm! I know that's not normal, so I'll try to adjust those.

·
Registered
12 Posts