Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everybody. I'm new to the motorcycle world, as well as this thread. Recently, the idea of obtaining a MC license and buying a motorcycle have had me obsessed. I wanted feedback of what a good beginner street sport motorcycle to learn on would be, but is also fast, could go around 100, and accelerates quickly(for when I fully learn how to ride of course). I'm trying to aim for a price range under $2500 for a used bike under that criteria. I've seen many posts saying buy one of those dirtbike type streetlegal bikes, but I plan on keeping this bike for at least a year or two(wouldn't want to be driving around the "dirtbike" cruiser type that long). Thank you very much for the feedback!

Also, for the BRC, do they supply the training bikes? Upon completion, do you get your license? Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
2,728 Posts
Please dont focus on how fast you will go, learn how to ride a motorcycle well, I mean really well, then you can go where it is safe to get into triple digit speeds. Look up Capt Crash Idaho here and on you tube.
Many motorcycles will easily get up to triple digit speed, but when you get there will you be ready to handle the unexpected?
There are lots of great threads here dealing with various situations we all encounter from time to time while riding.
Take your time to learn how to ride right, so that you will have a very safe and long riding career!
Welcome to the forum!

·
Female Rider
9,324 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. In Missouri when you take the BRC the bikes are supplied. Upon successful completion of the course you are issued a card that you can take to the license office where you must pass the written test, then you will be issued a license. You need to check with your states DMV.