Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Roamer
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for 3 years, but I will be carrying a passenger for the first time this weekend.

For reference, I'm 5'7 and my passenger is 5'11. Combined, we'll be just a touch over the maximum load rating on my bike with all our gear on. Prior to heading out, I'll get a feel for acceleration, braking, and turning in a parking lot. Assuming all goes well there, we'll just be doing a short ride, 15-30 minutes, in a low traffic area with good pavement and a few stoplights/signs and turns. The speed limit is between 30 and 45 mph in that area, so won't be going faster than that. I ride an FZ-07, and passenger accommodations are spartan to say the least, so I know it isn't going to be a super comfortable ride for her (which is why I will keep it short).

I've read through past threads about carrying passengers, but I still have some questions.

1. What is the most secure "attachment" position for her? Arms around me and hands on tank? Arms just around me? Holding onto my sides? Holding the frame of the the bike? Some combination?

2. I know when I was first learning to ride, leaning the bike made my stomach drop until I got used to it. How do you explain to a passenger that leaning is normal and is not a sign of an impending tip over? :biggrin:

3. Is it best for her to keep her body straight when I turn from a stop? What about when I'm going around a curve at speed?

4. What about bumps? I stand up on the pegs a bit when I go over big bumps. Since the passenger pegs are so much higher, what can she do to make bumps less painful?

I did get a pair of intercoms, so I can talk to her during the ride. I will let her know when I'm going to be braking, accelerating, turning, etc. I will try to be as smooth as possible, of course, but I think she may feel better about the ride if she knows what is happening or about to happen.