Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Nightfly
4,601 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you guys, who ride 2 wheel motorcycles, think this is a good idea? I may be a tad behind as I am new to the term "autocycle." Not sure how many states have implemented a law such as this but apparently Maine is not the first.

They appear to be saying if it has three wheels, foot controls for throttle and brake and a steering wheel, it is an autocycle. If it has handle bar steering, hand controls for throttle and brake and three wheels, then it is still a motorcycle.

That would seem to leave Harley three wheelers and Honda three wheelers out in the cold, they are by definition still a motorcycle. Something seems to be afoot. As with most things, it would seem the appeal of greater sales trumps having better trained riders on the highways. Which reminds me, are they still considered riders?

https://www.pressherald.com/2019/07/14/maine-among-states-regulating-autocycles/comments/

·
Moderator - Loves All Motorcycles
1,251 Posts
We can largely thank Paul Elio for this...

Paul's company (that I'm still not convinced either isn't a scam or isn't so incompetent it shouldn't exist) wants to build three wheel cars that cost $6,800. Problem is that back when the project first started he ran into a roadblock that the car would be classified as a motorcycle, therefore requiring owners to have a motorcycle license and in some states, even wear a helmet. The guy wants to sell 250k of the things a year and those two roadblocks would definitely harm the possibility of hitting that number.