Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post!

I had a bike 15 years ago; a Honda V65 Magna. It was my fist bike and I sold the it because it was a learning experience and I was on the way to being a new Dad. However, I've ridden quite few motorcycle before and after. I'm missing the short country jaunts and day trips on a motorcycle.

My purchase time line is March- May next year. I'm hoping to catch a deal before warm weather here (South-Central Virginia).

The bikes I prefer are Adventure style because of the comfortable upright rider position. And, I definitely want a integrated windscreen. The other thing is I want to stay in the 500lb ish range. My size is 5'11" 31" inseam.

I'm studying specs a lot and will do some demos soon, especially when I'm ready to bite.

The standouts so far are the:
Suzuki V Strom 650 $6K-$8K
Kawasaki Versys650 $7K-$8K
BMWF700 and 800 used $7K-$8K
a NOS Yamaha Super Tenere $9K(but it's heavy 570lbs). The Yamaha is in a different feature and power "class" than the others.

I've running numbers, insurances and taxes. My self-imposed purchase limit is $9K.

Based on some Cycletrader and dealer info, it appears the new market is so soft that new and NOS bikes can be had for close to used prices except for the BMWs.

I love to hear your insight....

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm looking at Honda NC700X to fill a similar role.
Yes, I read about the new 750 today.
They're nice bikes in the price point. I was looking at slightly more horsepower and there's a lot of new discounted Suzuki's and Kawasaki's around here in the realm of the Honda or less.

·
Registered
809 Posts
I vote for the V Strom, but I'm biased! I love my SFV650 which has basically the same engine. The Yamaha FJ-07 is supposed to be available by your timeframe (early 2016) and might be another great option. I like the NC700X too, but the seat was too tall for me.

·
The 43rd Poser
440 Posts