Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, i am currently an student studying my A-Levels. For my context research as part of product design i am required to do research into a context of my choice i have chosen motorcycling, and i was wondering if anyone had any issues whether it is maintenance or safety based, or racing or anything they feel could be solved really, it would be much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
9,830 Posts
Modern motorcycles are becoming too complex, and too heavy. Fuel consumption has also increased. Primarily due to weight and wind resistance. But older bikes with the same power and weight, got better fuel mileage. Doing simple things like changing an air filter can be a long job, when it should be simple.
Brakes tyres and suspension have improved. Engine durability has improved.

UK

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
15,500 Posts
What Krusty said. I have to pull both saddle bags, and both mufflers to get my rear wheel off.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Because of digital electronics (ECUs, ABS whatever), touch screens, Tupperware (bodies) and other gadgetry, modern bikes are much harder for the average owner to maintain. An oil change that used to take 15-minutes can now be a half-day project due to the bodywork -- changing the induction air-filters, is similar...

·
Registered
3,646 Posts
A lot has been done to increase the visibility of motorcyclists, but people in cars still don't see us. They pull out from side roads and make turns in front of on-coming motorcyclists.

As much progress as there has been, it still happens. Got something to make a motorcycle look like a Mack truck?

·
American Legion Rider
25,902 Posts
As much progress as there has been, it still happens. Got something to make a motorcycle look like a Mack truck?