Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no mechanic, but two real ones haven't been able to figure out what's happening with my bike, so I'm trying to figure some things out on my own.

Bike sat for a couple years, and I had carbs cleaned. Bike would backfire a lot, and the mechanic couldn't figure it out.

I let the bike sit another couple years, and I took it to another who cleaned the carbs and fixed the backfiring problem (I think a gasket wasn't seated properly), but now the max speed is about 50 mph, and it has no guts any more. It also stalls a fair amount and is sometimes difficult to crank back up.

A third mechanic told me to check the temp of the exhaust pipes, and I found the rear one was cool. After the bike has been warmed up, I did a compression test:

• Rear cylinder: Exhaust pipe is cool and compression is 120. Bike easily started while running test on this cylinder. (Yeah, I know I should have turned off the fuel.)
  • Front cylinder: Exhaust pipe is hot and compression is 130. Bike did not start while testing this cylinder.
Spark plugs look good on both. What could be the reason the rear cylinder isn't working?

Thnx for your help,

Dave

·
Registered
101 Posts
Is the rear plug wet? If you're not getting spark you can have compression and fuel but still no fire. Or, and I know you said just had the carbs gone through, but if the rear cyl is not getting fuel, the plug will look great because there's no fuel to foul it, but no fire. Also, but unlikely if you haven't been in the engine, timing could be 180 out on the rear cylinder. You'll have compression, but the spark will be coming in at the wrong time. Just some thoughts, other than that it doesn't make sense.:eek:

·
Banned
1,272 Posts