Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This bike has been an on and off pain. It starts up just fine and idles just fine, though it does need to idle high (4-5k rpm) for warming up, but it's old and I expect that. When I take it out on the road, it'll ride fine for a bit, but then it seems to bog down when I roll on the throttle at all. Then it slowly dies out and in order to keep it running, I have to open up the choke which takes it up to ~5k and that doesn't seem healthy. What on Earth would be causing this issue? I'm guessing carb problems, but I am no motorcycle mechanic.

·
Female Rider
9,324 Posts
When this happens open your gas cap just to see if it is possibly a clogged air vent. I really hope it is something that simple. Also you could pull the fuel line to make sure it is going through. If the bike sat for a while the gas could have gone bad and clogged something up. I'm a firm believer in trying the simple things first. Good Luck.

·
Registered
260 Posts
Hate to be a broken record here, but a faulty petcock can cause your issue.

If your petcock has a prime position, and it is defective, it will always be priming the engine by allowing gas to flow directly into the carb without entering the bowl. This can also cause overflow issues when the bike is off.

The prime is making the fuel rich when it shouldn't...and then you twist the throttle and make it even richer...and the bike...bogs...bingo.

High idle "no matter what you do" is a sure sign of a bad petcock.

Old petcocks use a vacuum mechanism to shut off fuel flow when the bike is off. That same vacuum port also acts as the prime...if the mechanism is messed up, you will prime the engine all the time...and if it's really messed up, gas will leak out of the carbs.

Turn the gas to on.

Run the bike.

Shut off the bike but leave the gas on.

Pull the vacuum hose off the carb...there should be no gas in the hose.