Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new here to the forum and this is my first post! I have a 1982 Honda xl80s that I've had since childhood the I'm in the process of restoring.

I'm having some major trouble getting it to start. I've installed a new coil, points and condenser so far. I have strong spark and fuel to the carb...

The issue is that it's blowing gas out of the air cleaner side! I'm assuming there is something fishy going on with the valve timing or adjustment, however the bike has 600 miles on it and no body has been into it for at least 15 years(it ran flawlessly for 7 years)

So I'm just curious what can possiblity cause an issue like this? I'm a mechanic but motorcycles are pretty new to me. Any input is greatly appreciated!!

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
15,495 Posts
Pull and clean the carb(s) Start there, clean the tank and check it for rust. Clean all the fuel lines and any filters.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey critter thanks for the response! I tried 2 different carburetors with the same result.

Also the tank is pretty rusty, but I soaked it in diesel for a week before putting gas in it. Any tips for getting at that rust in there?

·
Premium Member
5,766 Posts
The issue is that it's blowing gas out of the air cleaner side!
Pop the valve cover off, and make sure they are moving correctly, too. If they are sticking, you may just need to squirt some thin oil on them (like Marvel Mystery Oil) and crank it through several times, with the spark plug out to make it easier.

You should search for a service manual, because it appears the two bolts that hold the valve cover on are two of the four head bolts, and you will want the proper torque when you button it back up. Hard to tell from the parts diagrams, though; those bolts could just go into something else on the top.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·