Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright I picked up a 82' cb650 from a friend for 200$ it runs amazing and it's a great bike to learn how to ride on.. the only problem is It wont charge.

First I tested the stator and regulator and the reg was shot, I replaced that through electrosport and my voltage on the battery at 5000rpm went from 12(not charging) to 14.1(clymer says it should be 14.8). I thought all was well and after about 100 miles it died on me and I had a nice long walk home with it.

Now the regulator AND stator are both testing bad so this week I will be taking the stator and the rotor and inspecting the rotor. My main question is...

What could cause the regulator to go bad so quickly? I will also check all the wires and grounds this week but I am not an expert on electrical or mechanical so it could be a slow process and money is a little tight, so hopefully its a quick cheap and easy fix haha.

any input would be greatly appreciated!

·
Independent M/C Shop
132 Posts