Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All, I'm a new rider and new to the forum so I apologize in advance for any lack of know-how navigating around here. A buddy of mine recently decided to just give up his 76 Honda CB750 that had been sitting in his garage and I took on the gift(project)! I'm not an experienced mechanic by any means, but I'm a bit handy and have turned a wrench or two. I cleaned the carbs and replaced the battery on the bike and she fired right up. I decided to change the spark plugs next. The three plugs went in smooth, but the fourth I decided to give a turn too many and stripped it!!! The plug now backs out fine and goes in smooth until the last bit...almost snugs up but then rotates through. I've been searching around and apparently I need an M12 x 1.25 spark plug repair kit which is the equivalent of a unicorn. Can anyone shed some light on the matter or guide me in a direction that won't cost the mortgage??? Thanks!!

MONIonline

6m ago*-*#38

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
14,301 Posts
Can you use a heli-coil?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats the route i was looking to go, im just a bit uneducated on the details in using them. The m12 "spark plug kit" is like non existent. I found one on ebay. Ive been told by a few people that the kit to be specifically a "spark plug kit"????

·
14,301 Posts
Is the plug or the cylinder stripped?
Did you try another plug in that head?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I haven't. ....would be the simplest step. I think i just dismissed the thought of that when i weighed it against my luck. Ill try tomorrow. Thanks for responding so quick. Whats the chances the plug strips before the head? And if it is the head...whats the next step?

·
14,301 Posts
Let's take one step at a time. One would like to believe that the plug would be weaker metal than the head.