Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I'm an engineering student but by not an overly skilled mechanic. I have a 1974 CB360 that I'm fixing up in my basement over the winter. The problem is that the bike will shift without the clutch even being engaged. It will shift down to first, up to neutral,second, and third then not move to fourth-sixth. I took off the left crankcase to look at the shift actuator, everything looked to be in ok shape. I dont know what to do.
I forgot to mention: the bike has sat in my basement for the past 12 years or so, that was the last time it was fired up as well.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Transmission fluid or clutch cable adjustment, unless it's a hydraulic clutch then fluids dried up or seals gone.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the shop manual for the cb360 and nowhere does it say that there is transmission fluid of any kinds, which makes me believe that the clutch runs without any kind of fluid

·
Premium Member
5,274 Posts
The transmission shares the engine oil, and the clutch is bathed in it, too.

So, you're saying that you can shift into the first three gears with the engine running and the clutch lever released? Or, is this with the engine stopped? If the latter, that's normal; shifting depends on the gears being aligned in the transmission and, without rolling the bike or running the engine, it may not shift at all.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
WintrSol: this is with the bike stopped so I guess its not a problem. I just put new oil in the bike a few days ago (it was drained 10 years ago and has not been fired up since). I thought bikes could never shift without compressing the clutch, I guess i was wrong. I can try to fire it up in the next day or two and see if that cures it.

·
Premium Member
5,274 Posts