Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm definitely looking for cruiser type motorcycles. I like the V-Star's, but the 250s seem just way too small for me, I know I'm going to be really cramped on it.

I am 5/11, I weigh 125 pounds, my arms are long, and I have a 33 inseam. Those 250 cruisers just seem to small for me.

But I'm a straight up beginner. I have absolutely zero experience with motorcycles or dirtbikes, so I need something that isn't going to get away from me.

So what would you folks recommend for someone like me?

·
Registered
31 Posts
Cruisers are a little different from sports bikes from what I've read on these forums I think. I'd guess you can go up just a bit more in power until you find one that suits you.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'm about .5 inch taller and same inseam. Just started riding 5 months ago. I'd say go for a Virago or Rebel if you like the cruiser style and feel - you will be fine. The seat height doesn't matter and if your feet feel cramped on the controls, you can get different pegs, and/or extensions to push the pegs forward a few inches.

I started out on a Yamaha XT 250 dual sport because I thought I needed the higher seat height; but later when I took a BRC course, they furnished Kawasaki Eliminators (cruiser similar to Rebel but single cyl 125 displacement) and I liked it.