Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, all!

Absolute beginner here. I have been riding for about six months but know nothing about maintenance. I left my bike sitting for about two months and now it will not start. It does turn over, just won't start.

So I've read that most of the time it's either fuel is bad, which I hope in this case it's not since it hasn't sat THAT long and I rode it every day before that for at least five months.

I've read that I can attempt to use starter fluid which is going to be my first step to see if that gets it running at all or if it will at least start it before it then stops (carb cleanup at that point possibly).

Or that it could be spark plugs.

I'd like to start with the starter fluid. However, since I'm a completely new... I'm not even sure where to use it on this bike! I thought Ii would just need to take the air filter off to get to the intake buuuut either I'm being dense or that is not the case on this bike.

Can anyone help with pictures or directions as to where the intake is so that I can spray the starter fluid in it?

Thanks so much in advance!
Kyle

·
Registered
30 Posts
Fuel shouldn't go that bad in two months. How fast does it turn over? If its not too fast it may be that the battery has lost some charge and the voltage is not high enough to trigger the ignition when its also turning the motor over.

You could try a couple of things:

- charge the battery and try again.
- try bump starting it: ignition on, second gear engaged, clutch in, push the bike to get some speed and drop the clutch. Get ready to pull the clutch again if it fires up!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would guess that it is turning over fast enough though I am unsure what constitutes as fast or slow. I will give that a shot when I have some time over this weekend though for sure as that was not something I had heard to try.

Thank you for the suggestion.
Kyle

·