Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bike sat for 3 years. I've gone through the basics to get it running or so I thought. 1st, fuel pump not turning on at all and horn not working. I activate horn and I get clicking in the fuse box relays. They also click once when bike stand is retracted or when kill switch on handle is centered. I'm not a mechanic but I'm handy and lost. Please assist if possible. I swapped relays and same result.

Greg

·
Very Famous Person
10,003 Posts
--

This may be simple; you haven't explained; is the battery fully charged? Is it reading at least 12.5 v.? Also, is your kill switch open?

--

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't have a meter to check it, yet. The battery was completely dead and spent the night on the charger. Kill switch is open and the battery has enough juice to start the bike as i got it to run on starting fluid. If it has enough power to do that wouldn't it be enough to power the fuel pump and or horn at least? Maybe the system is more temperamental than I thought and it needs a 100% battery to run everything.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hello, even if you charge a battery it could still be ****, on top of that make sure both terminal are free from corrosion and check the main ground connections. You can pick up an inexpensive digital volt meter and it will help.what style charger are you using? Trickle charger?

·
Biker
1,624 Posts
Hi,ya Greg,

So does the horn work now as well as the fuel pump? Sounds like you have an interlock with the side stand,
that the starter relay won't kick in to complete circuit to the starter until kick stand is in proper position to
allow that to happen.

Interesting about the engine run switch. Are you saying it is also the starter switch? as you say relay clicks
when bike stand is retracted or kill switch centered.

For the most part when ignition sw. is 'ON' power goes to kill sw. with kill sw. ON power goes to ignition