Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone im new to the fourms and have a little problem with my bike I purchased as a winter project its a gs550es 1985 and when I first got it the gas tank had numerous leaks in it so I immediately cleaned the carbs and was bored of sitting around waiting to find a new tank so I tried to start it with one of my quad tanks and it was just flooding the motor anyway now I have a new tank with a clean inside clean fuel filter and functional petcock I put the bike all the way on choke and it fires right up and idles it dies a few times but will idle with choke all the way on for sevral minutes. If I try to touch the gas at all or try to turn the choke of at all it will die. even after idilig with choke on for ten minutes if I try to unchoke it will die. Also I am doing all this with the boots off the carbs and air box. I cant find out how to open the airbox to get a filter in there prying it with a flathead wont open it also is it possible to run a pod filter on these oval carbs and have it run right?

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
It sounds like a pretty serious lean condition - either carbs still blocked/dirty, or a massive air/vacuum leak. Or, it could simply be airbox and filter aren't hooked up. Or, a combination of the above.

Pods usually take a considerable amount of effort to make functional on a bike - pretty serious jetting issues - CV carbs especially.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It sounds like a pretty serious lean condition - either carbs still blocked/dirty, or a massive air/vacuum leak. Or, it could simply be airbox and filter aren't hooked up. Or, a combination of the above.

Pods usually take a considerable amount of effort to make functional on a bike - pretty serious jetting issues - CV carbs especially.[/QUOTE

Thank you for your response. Where would an air vacuum
leak occur? The intakes look fine I was thinking possibly one of