Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 1984 Honda VT500FT Ascot (my first ever motorcycle) as a starter bike. I rode it for 2 weeks (200 miles) and it ran great. I should mention that I have no prior riding experience or experience with working on motorcycles. Also, I made the mistake of filling up with old gasoline (1-2 months old).

The other day, I went to start it and it was difficult to start. I can only keep it running if the throttle is open. If I let off the throttle and let it idle, the rpms slowly drop down until it reaches ~500rpms and stalls out. While running, it smells like gasoline. It also backfires sometimes when trying to start it. I have been led to believe the carbs need cleaned.

This past weekend I:
drained the oil and noticed it was very thin and had gasoline in it
removed the gas tank and drained the gas
removed the petcock and noticed the petcock screen was mostly non-existent

I want to try to clean the carbs without taking them apart (sea foam). Is this worth a try?

What should I do next? Any tips are greatly appreciated. I don't have experience working on motorcycles but I should be able to figure most things out using my engineering background and the internet.

·
Premium Member
5,271 Posts
Gas in oil, smell of gas while running, no filter; I'd say you have something blocking the float valve, keeping it from closing. That lets the carburetor overflow, and much of that goes directly into the cylinder and into the oil. Can you remove the float bowls (bottom of the carb) without much difficulty? If so, put some fresh gas in the tank (it doesn't take much) and close the petcock. With the float bowl off, and something to catch the gas, open the petcock and lift the float until the fuel stops flowing - don't be rough with it. Maybe let it open a close a few times, to wash any junk out of it.