Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought this bike to start out on. It runs pretty well, clutch and brakes are fine but there’s a noise coming from one of the wheels (I think it’s the front) but it only happens after I’ve rode it for at least 20 minutes. It sounds like a screeching/chirping which has made me lean towards a wheel bearing but if anybody else has an idea of what it could be please let me know. I’m new to this bike so I’m not sure what it could be. Thanks!

·
Visionary
5,413 Posts
Wheel bearing or brakes.

Brakes are easy enough to check, see how much lining is left on them ( just like car brakes). Some brakes just chirp at times too, try applying the front brake gently while it's chirping, does the sound change..if so that's a sign to look closer at the brakes. Some types of pads just are noisy.

As for the wheel bearing idea, jack it up and you can turn and try to wiggle the wheel, or take the wheel off and feel the bearings. Or while you have it off just replace them, wheel bearings are pretty cheap and easy enough to change so even if you have it done it's not a huge expense.

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
I honestly don't remember, but if the speedometer drive runs off the front wheel you might want to check that also.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So there’s a new problem as of last night. I was riding home around like 9pm and the lights and stuff just shut off and the bike died. I never did get it started again but I also was wondering about the screeching...is there a fan inside the radiator? Please excuse my ignorance. I just like to be sure about things like this. Thank you guys for your input so far

·
Visionary
5,413 Posts
Most radiators do have electric fans, and if it's screeching maybe it's bad and blew the fuse for your electrical system. You might fix all your problems with one simple fix...