Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I am new to riding and was wondering what everyones thoughts were on a CB700sc as a first bike. I am currently living in the Las Vegas area and am 5'-11" 225lbs. I am fairly strong, do have a little bit of a pooch but - thats what good beer does to you. I am not the most mechanically inclined - but I have a good amount of tools, quite a number of co-workers who are, and am pretty good at figuring out issues.

I have completed the MSF class with no issues and really enjoyed ridding. I know a lot of people and at the class push 250s or at max below a 500cc bike for a new rider, but I am hoping that because it is an 84 and since I am not an overly aggressive rider and do not have a true "need for speed" that this bike isn't that far off from a good starter bike that I can grow into. I just do not want it to be to big/heavy that it impedes my "growth" of become a more seasoned motorcyclist. I should note that once i buy a bike - any bike - I will be spending at least 3-5 weeks just going around neighborhoods and practicing various skills and getting comfortable with the bike before bringing it to the open road.

Anyways, Any advice on if this is a good starter bike or am I biting off more then I can chew?

If it is a good starter bike, keep reading and help me decide which bike to buy!!! :thumbsup:

If not, please let me know why, and what comparable bike you think would be a better fit so I can go back to aimlessly starring at CL waiting for the right bike to come up:smiley_drinkcoffee:.