Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello to all of the bikers out there! This is my first thread in the forum. I have this 1984 Honda VT500FT V-twin liquid cooled 6-speed shaft driven Ascot I got just over a year ago. I had been storing it for a family member in my garage for over 12 years and finally convinced him to sell it to me.

Although I have never owned or ran a motorcycle, outside of dirtbikes that is, I do however have a history in mechanics and have had no issues refurbishing the bike.

In the first summer of having it, I got it some what a part and got it running. I ran it up and down the drive a few times and it is in really good condition. So I decided to finish the rebuild and get it on the road by this next summer.

I wanted to bring this beauty to the forum so I could for one share the rebuild of this rare bike, but also to search for threads, tutorials, and receive feedback. I have never rebuilt a bike as much as I intend to build this one, so I could use some guidance, hopefully some that all of you knowledgeable people seem to have with bikes.

Here are pictures of the build so far. I am now working on stripping it back down to the frame to do refurbishment. It needs some paint and light rust repair. My idea is to keep it close to original, but yet give it a cafe bike style with the angled bars and a custom seat.

The pictures are organized from when I first got it to now. I will have more to post as I will have many, many questions. Right now it needs a few $$ to get it road ready, it needs turn signals, gas tank work and a gas cap, clutch cable mount repairs, rear tire, ignition re-wired, some other msc things like paint, needs gauge work..

Attachments

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
13,134 Posts
Does look good

·
American Legion Rider
21,841 Posts
My hat is off to you for bringing that mess back to life.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4