Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first refurb. i am a car mechanic so i know my way around a tool box.
it is a 1983 Virago 920cc needs "starter clutch assembly" to run. but im also going to overhaul the engine and replace the exhaust. does anyone know where i can get good priced parts for this bike?

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
Give these guys a try. Just picked up a replacement headlight socket boot cheaper than anyone else I could find. Very reasonable shipping charges too.

http://www.powersportsplus.com/parts/search/Yamaha/Motorcycle/1983/XV920K/STARTER+CLUTCH/parts.html

p.s. If the starter is just noisy (tin can full of rocks), make sure the battery is putting out good current, & replace #2 & #8 in the parts diagram. I had a 1981 Non-Virago XV920. I also shimmed the starter, another shadetree remedy for the lousy starter.

·
Registered
295 Posts
Hello cbdallas. Your XV920 looks really good. How is it running?

Hello Masika. I was going to say that there is no starter clutch so I looked it up and the parts inside the left case cover are called the starter clutch. I didn't even know that. To read my comments on this bike search "81 XV920 Starter Issues" on this forum. My comments on starter clutch are wrong but the tips on starter fix will work if you do all of them. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I actually sold that bike a few years ago. Loved it for the gobs of low-end torque, hated it for what that seat did to my hind-quarters after 30 minutes or longer. Also strongly disliked that stupid enclosed chain.

Overall, it was a really good bike once I cleaned it up & got the little nagging stuff fixed. I remember particularly well that it never did like being 'choked', but always started right up & idled without it. Never seen an engine with a carb do that, before or since.