Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I'm new to motorcycling and recently picked up a 1982 xs400 Seca. I had it out a few days ago and noticed that it seemed a bit wobbly. Got it home tossed it up on the center stand, with engine off, spun rear wheel and noticed a slight wobble. Started the bike up, put it in gear and saw the same thing. The wheels are cast aluminum and I can't see any noticeable deformation. Not sure if it's bearings, swing arm related, etc... Also not sure if it's something that I can tackle or if I'd be better off having it done by a shop. Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

·
Ace Tuner
1,868 Posts
From what little I can see of the rim it looks like it might be running true but the tire sure ain't. If the rim is running true then the tire is most likely not mounted correctly.
There is a "bead line" on the tire right up close to the edge of the rim. Check to see if it is consistent all the way around. If it is not... You found the problem.
Please let us know what you find.

S F

·
American Legion Rider
19,020 Posts
Or it might just be a bad tire, rare but does happen. Cheap tires might have more bad cases than name brand so what brand is it. But what SF stated is most likely the case. Look for a bead not seated properly.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the quick replies. Tire is a Metzeler. Its dated from midway through 2018 and still has tons of tread left. I'll take a look at the bead line here shortly. Should I just remove tire, drop PSI and try to reseat the bead? If that doesn't do it, remove tire, reinstall wheel on bike and check that it's true? Then if all else fails take it to the pros?

·
Premium Member
829 Posts