Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay,

So I have a 81 Yamaha Virago. When I bought it, the bike was in good working order, had a few cosmetic issues, apparently though while sitting in my garage a gremlin broke in and ruined it, or I am just very unlucky.

So basically my bike wont turn over, click, chug or start for that matter.

Things I have already done...
  • Kickstand is up
  • In Neutral
  • Kill Switch is in the "run" position
  • Battery is charged: Checked it with a Voltage meter reading 12.2
I have dug into the rats nest that is front headlight dome and began my amateur attempt at discombobulating and installing a new Tachometer, Speedo, and instrument Panel. All this stuff is hard to install though when you can't be sure your even getting power.

I'm a novice at this stuff, so go easy on me.

Any thoughts?

·
Member Map
23,911 Posts
12.2 is low for a motorcycle battery. Try a charge at 1 amp for a few hours and see if you can get it above 12.6.

It's also possible to show plenty of voltage from the battery, but it doesn't have enough amperage to turn the starter. The next step would be to test the battery with a proper tester.

·
ZAMM Fanatic
2,732 Posts
I'd take the battery down to the auto parts store and have it tested.

12.6 or above is fully charged, 12.2 is like 80% discharged. And SITTING discharged kills lead-acid batteries faster than anything else.

Batteries are like a swimming pool, as they age they fill up with silt and hold less and less total charge, AND the pipes clog so they can't DELIVER that charge fast enough to crank the bike.

After you've got a known good battery, if still won't crank, let us know and we'll take you to diagnosis stage 2.

Or search on this forum "diagnosing no crank"

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4