Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have the option to get a 1980 Yamaha Midnight Special, and I've talked the guy down from 600 to 475. The only issue is the fact that the buyer states that when it idles, it runs fine, but when you open the throttle, it has a knock in the engine. This would be my first bike, and I wouldn't mind having a spring project to work on and get ready by summer, but I want to know how labor and monetarily consuming this problem might be to fix. I have some mechanical knowledge, and I have a couple friends that work on bikes quite frequently, but I don't want to sink a bunch of time and money into this bike if it's never going to run quite right. I know that an engine knock in a car can sometimes be a death sentence, but I've been told on a couple other forums, and through some research that it's not necessarily as big of an issue when it comes to bikes, especially older ones, because of the ease of access and simplicity of the mechanisms. I'd just like to get some more input from some more experienced mechanics before I decide to buy or not. Any and all input appreciated.

Thanks,

John

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
The first thing you need to do is check parts availability for a 34 year old bike. I don't know anything about this bike specifically, but parts just aren't readily available for many old bikes.

Have you heard it run? Have you heard this knock for yourself? I wouldn't touch it if not.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I haven't personally seen the bike. There is an ad with pics on CL, but I can't post the URL until I get 15 posts in here. I'd go take one of my gearhead buddies to check it out with me, but I don't have a car at the moment, which is one of my reasons for wanting a bike. I could potentially get out there to check it, but I don't want to waste three hours of my life if it's not even worth it in the first place.

·
Registered
6 Posts