Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

So, big day - excited about finally putting my Twinstar back together and wouldn't you know it? The torque wrench that I bought from Ghetto Freight, :: ahem :: I mean Harbor Freight, malfunctioned and I over-torqued my bolt. It snapped in two (yes, I was following the instructions. No, I've never done this before). The bolt I'm talking about is the lower internal bolt (right side crank case bolt) inside the engine. It's literally the first of two bolts you put in to hold the darn thing together.

I just spent the good part of 3 hours getting the right side of the crankcase onto the left. I'm pretty PO'ed right about now. I have to re-open the case, get a new gasket kit to replace the one I'll inevitably destroy, order a new bolt, and put hours more of work into this trying to get the snapped bolt out of the left side without damaging the case.

I'm hoping beyond all hope that someone out there will tell me not to worry about that bolt and just continue putting the engine together and never think about it again.

I'm expecting everyone here to tell me that there isn't any other choice and to suck it up and just do it.

Thanks for your time and help. It's my first time working on a motorcycle engine. I knew I'd f something up, but didn't think it would be this awful. :(

~Catie G.

·
Premium Member
5,603 Posts
That bolt is there for structural reasons, else it wouldn't be there. Sorry, I don't see any way around taking it back apart.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Resp to WintrSol

Thanks for the reply. Any tip for me on how to more easily pull apart the two halves? Last time I used a rubber mallet and a wooden block wrapped in a sock and tapped it all around for hours and hours until it finally gave. I was so worried I'd crack my case.