Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello
Let me start by saying that I was given a 1980 CM400T about two years ago. The bike was sitting for nearly 12 years. After a new battery, oil, gas, tires & tubes, and plugs, the bike literally started right up and has been running great.
So far I have put about 2k miles on it, never had an issue. The bike has always leaked a little bit of fuel from underneath the carbs, but that has never been a problem.
Now there appears to be an oil leak. I get some smoke and some oil collecting on the top of the power chamber, and it seems to be leaking just right behind the chain. I've included some pics in this post of this problem area for reference.

Where I need advice - I am not a mechanic, nor have I ever done any extensive work on a car or bike. I assume the seals are shot on this bike and need to be replaced. I believe there is a seal kit I could purchase and do myself, and I would also plan to pull the carbs and perform a thorough cleaning, although I've read some nightmare stories regarding this.

Anyhow, for a rookie like me, who has the technical skill and the desire to perform this task at hand, should this be something I could tackle over the course of the winter and get this bike up and running again, or should I not waste my time as my lack of expertise in this area lead me down the wrong path?

The bike currently runs great. If it weren't for the slight oil leak and little bit of gas that occasionally drips out, you wouldn't know there was an issue.
Should I sell this bike instead and let somebody else do their own repairs?
In the end I'd hate to have a bike that no longer runs because I was the guy to disassemble it...

Attachments

·
Registered
388 Posts