Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize if this is a bit vague as I'm posting this while at work. I have been working on my 900 and am looking into possibly upgrading the intake at this point. I would like to either add a hyper charger or a cone filter intake. I am however worried about those messing with the amount of intake and fuel to air ratio. Not going for just looks. Any help is appreciated. I am still learning about the science behind the mechanics of it so bear with me.

·
Registered
325 Posts
Morning,

My experience has been that anytime you change/modify the air intake or exhaust systems you will have to change the carb jetting. Not a difficult job, just have to experiment until you get the right combination of air/fuel mixture.

Don't be afraid to try different jet sizes, just be patient until you get it right because you will probably have to change the jets several time before you get right.

Keep us in the loop, Inquiring minds want to know!

Skip

·
Registered
5 Posts
1982 honda 900 cb

I am having trouble getting the bike to run above idle. just rebuilt the carbs. Any idea what could be my problem?
Thanks Mr. bill

Also how do I post on the forum? instead of replying on someone else post.

·
Registered
370 Posts
Also how do I post on the forum? instead of replying on someone else post.
"New thread" at the top and bottom of the first page listing of this forum (Vintage). Rebuilding 30 year old carburetors require a total strip down, 24hrs in carburetor dip (any rubber parts excluded) and O-ring and gasket replacement. Carburetor cleaner spray is useless unless you melt all the varnish and crud in the tiny passages and jets you can't see. Did you really rebuild them?

·
Pale Rider
528 Posts