Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1980 cb750c, I had all the electrical working perfect the other night, but the battery was a bit drained from getting the carbs set to where the motor ran perfect. I put the battery on charge over night but failed to realize that I had the ignition switch on the park position instead of off. Anyways came out to start it today and no lights came on, on the bike and the electric start button didn't work. I used a screw driver to jump the starting solinoid and it started perfect with the key switched to on but didn't start with the key switched to off like it is supposed to but no lights or electric start still. I don't know if it is the ignition switch that is broken or it maybe a relay? All fuses are good. Has anyone ever ran into this issue, or can anyone think of what could be wrong?? Thanks

·
Registered
3,162 Posts
First of all, I am no expert on that particular bike. But having worked on Honda bikes of similar years, I am wondering if your main fuse let go. the main fuse is a thin strip of exposed metal that lives right under two screws on the solenoid.
They are called dogbone fuses because of the resemblance to a dogbone