Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. My name is kile. I have been wrenching on as much spare time as I can get for about two years now. I recently payed 200.00 for a 78 Honda hawk ll that I took on as a project. My plan is to clean her up, give her some love, and ride for a bit before I resell. The bike was sitting on the Oregon coast for quite a while from the looks inside the carbs. Cleaned those, new oil, new battery, and new plugs. I can get the bike to start up and idle, but when I do I get the right side heating up very fast and smoking white out of what seems to be everywhere on the right side of the motor. It is a thin white smoke that doesn't have a smell to it. Wondering if anyone has any ideas what may be causing it...I lashed the valves proper and made sure everything was tourqued to spec. Any thoughts would be great. Thanks for your time.
From what I've read on here everyone seems to hate these little bikes...

The forum is telling me I am not allowed to post links or photos on my first post so I will in any replies

Sent from my moto g(7) supra using Tapatalk

·
SUPER MODERATOR
9,829 Posts
If you place your hand at the end of the exhaust pipes, you will probably find that one outlet feels drastically different than the other because it is starving for fuel: It is probably the carb on that side causing the problem. The carb needs to be taken apart and rebuilt completely but as on any multi cylinder engine, it could be many other things causing the problem.

One of our Moderators has recent experience restoring a bike like yours and I'm sure he will offer advice soon!

Welcome to the forum!

Sam:)

·
Visionary
5,741 Posts