Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my 1975 Honda cb360t, love it but I cannot figure out how to get the front brake from sticking. With the front wheel raised, it does not spin freely. You can clearly see the pads are touching the disc. I tried adjusting the stopper bolt and nut on the caliper as stated in a manual I found online, does not seem to do much. Wheel still does not spin freely.

This is sooo irritating as when I ride it causes loud squealing. I am no mechanic but also am not a total noob. Please give me clear step by step instructions if you can help, I am also a huge fan of pics showing what you are talking about as parts often go by several names.

Someone please help!

·
Member Map
23,909 Posts
There are two likely problems that can cause this:

1) The caliper pistons are getting stuck. Clean the brake caliper pistons to fix this. You might as well replace the seals while you have it apart.

2) The pressure relief valve in the master cylinder is sticking. Clean out the master cylinder of any contamination. It may also need to be rebuilt, depending on the severity.

A less likely cause could be clogged brake lines, but that's not nearly as common as the two first issues.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, I appreciate the advice, may you provide any instructions? There is not too much info on the web and I like details. Thanks again!

·
Registered
518 Posts
Ok, I appreciate the advice, may you provide any instructions? There is not too much info on the web and I like details. Thanks again!
You may want to invest in a Clymer, Hayes or even a Honda Factory Service manual. Either that or find a local bike shop willing to work on a 38 year old bike.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5