Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My dad has had it for 20+ years and had rebuilt the motor about 5 years back. It has new piston rings and a new piston. It hasn't ran much since then and has maybe 50 miles on the new rings. I just got it running a few days ago and it's emitting white smoke out of 1 exhaust pipe and backfires in the same pipe. I just put in fresh oil the day I got it running and it already looks black. And even after repeated cleaning the new plugs are also always blackened. Any insight on what could be going wrong with it would be really helpful. I'm pretty new to working on Harleys so I don't know a lot. Thanks for your time.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Both plugs look the same after running for a few minutes. Sooty black. I don't have a lot of experience with S&S carbs but I've been reading manuals about how to adjust them. I jetted the intermidiate from 0295 to 028 and the main jet from 72 to 66. It did nothing if not made it slightly worse.

· Gone.
17,927 Posts
Hmmm...I think I'd try turning the idle mixture screw all the way in (gently) and see if the bike will start. This will lean it way out and it shouldn't start. What can happen sometimes is a ham-handed mechanic can turn that screw all the way in and the point will start to wallow out the opening and that will cause the bike to run rich all across the range. You can also check the same thing by turning the screw all the way in while the bike is running and seeing if it cuts off and dies at idle.

I'd also do a compression test, just to eliminate that possibility even though the bike has new rings.

· Save them all!
4,293 Posts
To add one on that I would double check the ignition is spot on before diving any further into the carb.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·