Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hatching a plan here that might be a bit too ambitious, so I'm hoping for some advice from more seasoned distance riders. This is gonna be a long one, so you might want to grab a drink...

I've been riding for four years on a 1982 Honda CM200T Twinstar. I picked the bike up for $500 when I first got my license, thinking it would be a good starter and I'd move on to something else the next season, but then I fell in love. I won't pretend she's never given me trouble, but she's always gotten me where I need to go. Beyond runs to the grocery store, most of my experience is with weekend trips around New England, mostly ~200 mile round trips, maybe max 500.

At the end of the summer, I'll be moving from Providence RI to the Twin Cities in MN. I want to ship most of my stuff and do the trip by bike. My plan is to take it real slow. I can give myself a week or more to make the trip, ride the back roads at 50 mph, take frequent breaks, don't spend more than 6 hours a day on the bike, don't ride in weather, etc. I also plan to spend a lot of time over the next two months getting ready. I'll replace everything on the bike that I think might go out, make sure she's well tuned, and try to figure out a luggage rack and maybe a fairing with windshield.

Despite these precautions, a lot of people have told me that they think I'm going to get killed, or break down immediately, or just be miserable the whole way. While I'm reasonably confident that they're wrong, I know that my own self-confidence isn't always well-placed, which is why I'm checking in with you all.