Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I'm in the market for a new naked. I have 8 grand burning a hole in my pocket and I've narrowed my options down to 4 different exotic/semi-exotic nakeds which I have numbered by their cylinders, because its just friggin' adorable that way.

1. 2010 KTM Duke 690

2. 2009 Buell XB12SS

3. 2009 Triumph Street Triple R

4. 2008 MV Agusta Brutale 910S

I've been riding for a few years and I'm competent enough. I ride nearly every day of the year in rain and sometimes in light snow. The bike will not be in a garage and instead will receive a cover. This will be my only personal form of transportation and will need to not only be available for in-town commuting but also highway trips lasting up to 5 hours at a time, a wee bit of tom-foolery on the backroads, and light camping duty (what I carry on my back will work) off of well-packed fire roads and short gravel roads. Top speed isn't important at all to me, I'm much more interested in how agile, versatile and responsive the bike is.

I'm interested in any of your takes on the other bikes even if you wouldn't recommend them.

Just to clarify, I'm not interested in a V-Strom or a Multistrada or a Kawasaki Sherpa. Just out of those 4 bikes please.

·
Registered
60 Posts
LOVE that MV Agusta... Absolutely love it. But I think if it's going to be your only form of transportion it wouldn't be the best choice simply because it's rare and getting it serviced will not only be inconvinient, but also very expensive.

What about a Ducati Monster?? Those bikes looks good, are very popular, and would fit your needs very well. If you can spend 8k on it, you would have a lot of choices with engine size and whatnot.

·
Registered
912 Posts
well you asked, but if 4 is going to be hard to get worked on or parts for I'd go with 3....JMHO