Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I had a leak on the rear tire coming out around the valve steam base where it bolts to the rim i didn't know i wasnt supposed to use fix a flat till now but I've already made that mistake. Anyways my question is does the tire have a tube in it, it's a spoked rim and everything online says yes but it was my grandpa's bike and he says he never used tubes. I haven't taken the tire off yet I just wanted to see what yall had to say before I went farther I'm new to riding and just trying to learn as much as possible I work on all my stuff myself and this bike has been a pain so far to get running and now this just a pain in my butt lol and I just want to ride

·
American Legion Rider
26,362 Posts
Air coming from around the valve stem generally would indicate a tubeless but not always. Especially with spoked rims which are generally tubed. You have to goto extra work to go tubeless on spoked rims. Why do you not believe your grandpa? I would have believed ANYTHING my grandpa(s) told me without question.

·
Very Famous Person
10,009 Posts
--