Can someone put a "how to" on making stock pipe loud - Motorcycle Forum
Motorcycle Forum

Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Repair, Building, and Restoration > How To

How To A forum for ideas and tips on how to make it happen

Old 09-22-2009, 10:23 PM   #1
Suzuki Savage
Verified

Suzuki Savage is on a distinguished road
Default Can someone put a "how to" on making stock pipe loud

I am looking to make my suzuki savage sound like it can defend it self at least. After hours and hours of researching things it seems like my options are in the hundreds for a new pipe. I have heard of ways that you can take your stock pipe and cut or remove something to make it have some attitude. Can some one give me a how to on that project. Its my first time so more detailed the better =-)

sorry if this is the wrong place for this
Suzuki Savage is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-23-2009, 12:14 AM   #2
Dodsfall
Administrator

Dodsfall is just really nice

The biggest issue with the "homemade" conversions is that the fuel mixture gets changed as you change the back pressure of the exhaust. Many a backyard mechanic has screwed up their engine by improperly messing with the fuel mixture. Care must be taken to keep everything properly balanced.

You may need to change the jets in the carburetor if you remove the baffle from the muffler. The best way to tune the engine is with a dyno, but lacking that, read the plugs for proper fuel mixture and be prepared to change the jets out until you have the proper mixture going for your engine.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dodsfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 06:51 AM   #3
Custom85VT

Stock Exhaust Modification
PDF/Adobe Acrobat
http://www.stargis.net/webslinger/Docs/NoCutGut.pdf
Old 09-29-2009, 04:36 AM   #4
chrisw

chrisw is on a distinguished road