Masking Curves? - Motorcycle Forum
Motorcycle Forum

Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Repair, Building, and Restoration > Paint Jobs & Paint Tech

Paint Jobs & Paint Tech Post great specimens of motorcycle paint jobs. Pros or amateurs invited to show off their artistry.

Old 01-30-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
alleydude
Master At Arms

alleydude is on a distinguished road
Default Masking Curves?

Any experts here that can offer advice on masking curves? What tape do you use? Are there any special techniques you could share?

I'd like to do something like this (not these colors, just the two-tone) but every time I try to do a curve like the top forward curve, it comes out jaged and not smooth. Anyone with some advice?

Picture provided as an example only...

alleydude is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 02-03-2008, 09:07 AM   #2
CB750F
Shantytown Mayor

CB750F is on a distinguished road

I'm no expert but from what I've seen, people who paint flames and such (you don't get much curvier than that) use a real thin tape like 1/8" wide stuff. I would imagine the better quality tape (such as 3M) also helps. Even with my crappy paint work I won't skimp on tape and buy 3M. Ever have cheap tape fly off? I have . I imagine an auto body supply place could help you out with a good tape for curves. I would bet vinyl tape like real thin electrical type tape would bend a sharper curve than paper masking tape, especially if it was warm.
Old 02-03-2008, 09:14 AM   #3
CB750F
Shantytown Mayor

CB750F is on a distinguished road

I typed in tape for masking flames in Yahoo search and a couple sites came up. I read some of the one and the guy uses 3M Fine Line tape.

http://woodgraining.com/flash/flames/index.html

Probably production curves on a 2 tone paint job are like a template or pre-cut mask which I guess you could do with a razor blade and wide tape.
Old 02-03-2008, 09:16 AM   #4
alleydude
Master At Arms

alleydude is on a distinguished road