Motorcycle Forum banner

My Motorcycle Choice: Is it a good one?

3K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  MicroMetal 
#1 ·
Though I have been reading this forum for some time, this is my first post. I have zero riding experience, but have wanted to start riding for many years. The biggest obstacle was my wife as she was against my riding (not in the "I am the boss--do as I say" way; rather, it was "you are the most important thing in my life--I am afraid you might get hurt" way).

I worked on her for a long time and explained that if I took the safety course, practiced my skills, geared up and chose the right bike, I would increase my odds of riding safely. She told me to go for it on our anniversary (one of the best anniversary presents ever).

The MSF course is scheduled for later this month (yes!) and I have bought the essential gear and will finish gearing up after passing the course. Now, I am trying to pick a good first motorcycle.

For now, I plan to ride in town with very little highway riding (no interstate riding). A local dealership has a 2007 Suzuki GZ 250 for sale with about 1100 miles. Does anyone have this bike? Would you recommend this bike? Are there any negatives to this bike that a new rider wouldn't know?

Thank you for your help. This forum is great and very informative.

Jack

See less See more
#5 ·
I appreciate the feedback. Since I don't have any experience with riding and I don't have any personal experience with bikes, trying to pick one can be a little intimidating.

Thanks for the link to the service manual. I had not found that site yet and it has a lot of useful information if I decide to get this bike.

Winning the wife over took a while (about 5 years or so), but it is worth it.

#7 ·
I started on the GZ250. Excellent starter bike (but so is any 250cc bike). The single-cylinder engine is super simple and easy to maintain. The single carb also means no need to worry about syncing your carbs!